it is true that every time you hear a bell, an angel gets its wings. but what they don’t tell you is that every time you hear a mouse trap snap, an angel gets set on fire. ~ jack handy

a coupla days ago, i found myself going in circles in the basement of a mall, looking for a parking lot. this, is exactly the reason why i throw every excuse not to go to malls during the weekends. rupa-rupanya, malaysians have a life after all.

but that is not the point of this post. suka hati la orang nak keluar, kan?

one of the most disgusting thing an able-bodied driver can do, is park at a disabled person’s parking lot. that is just low, man. the passengers, looking like a platoon of rempits, sihat. the driver, looking like a bapak rempit, sihat. the car takde a handicap sticker. and while the rest of the world will circle the different levels of the basements a few times before we find a parking, you pulak senang je go and park at the lot reserved for the disabled.

and the thing is this, it is impossible not to notice that you park at the lot orang cacat. the lots are much wider than normal lots, and the whole surface of the lot is painted blue, and an orang cacat symbol right on top.

abang, saya tau la parking kat sini memang susah nak cari, tapi kalau you are patient enough, you will find one, you know. parking orang cacat ni is convenient because it it near the lifts, but it is there for a reason, so that they can push the wheelchair there.

haih.

i eventually found a parking, somewhere in the dungeons of the mall. i sat in my car as i pulled on my steering lock. another car pulls up into the lot next to me.

there was a couple next to me. must be in their mid-twenties, dressed like they have just come out of a hong kong fashion magazine. the hair! must have taken them all morning to get it set like that, man. they quickly locked up, and then fussed over something in their car.

i swelled with curiosity. i stayed in my car, pretending to tend to something in my bag. i just had to know.

they opened their car door, and to my horror, started chucking rubbish out of their car right onto the corner of their parking lot. small plastic bags of entah apa benda. crushed soda cans with straws still stuck in them. wads and wads of tissue. toll receipts. everything buang on the floor ikut suka hati nenek diaorang je.

after clearing out the car, they came out, slammed the car shut, and then boleh kick all the rubbish to the wall lagi. and here i am, giving them a nasty look from my car. lolita, who was on my side saw me, turned and walked away with the guy towards the lifts.

you know what i wanted to do? i wanted to pick up all the soda cans, cut them and put it under the car’s tires. people who litter, especially those who do it so heartlessly, make me want to do mean things. destructive things. and really, why shouldn’t i? they started it, rite?

people call me cynical all the time, but i really cannot help it. J tells me over and over again that i really got to have more faith in humanity. the people i surround myself with are generally genuinely morally upright people. but what about everyone else?

sigh. J also says i think too much. can’t help it. blame it on the wrong time of the month to get all bitchy with me, ay.

my weekend is going to be crazy. if i don’t make it through the next two days, look for my body somewhere between usj – damansara – bangsar. then again, i have a little devil sitting on my shoulder, telling me to just FFK everyone, turn off my phone and sleep in.

curse my morally upright and obscenely responsible conscience.

One thought on “it is true that every time you hear a bell, an angel gets its wings. but what they don’t tell you is that every time you hear a mouse trap snap, an angel gets set on fire. ~ jack handy

  1. Once I went to this stream to main air, but it was fill with floating plastics and cans, so I decided to do some community work, before I knew it, those other ppl that were there main-main air was also doing their part already. Malaysians are a shy lot, they just need someone to push them in the right direction every 5 minutes or so.

Leave a Reply

