Look Life in the eyes, Grown calm and very coldly wise, Life will have given me the Truth, And taken in exchange – my youth. -Sara Teasdale

When I was really much, much younger, my brother and sister used to have this song we would hum whenever we were yelled to clean up our mess of toys in the living hall or in our rooms. The tune is somewhat like the heads-and-shoulders-knees-and-toes tune. Whenever we were in a hurry, we would hum that tune along and quickly rush to pick up our mess. When the pressure got stronger and tensions were greater, we would quicken the pace of the song tune and moved faster to clean up our toys. When we relaxed (or rather picked at the clearing up process), the tune slows down.

Thinking back at this, I guess it is laughable how tunes correlate to how fast we worked. It reminds me a lot of the old vcr videos which sound would go into a high pitched frenzy when the tape speeds up fast forward. We were pretty much like that, actually.

We do not have such tunes when we clear things up now. But work in the office today is just insane and as I type my essays, research my articles, conduct phone interviews and reply my emails all at the same time, the tune suddenly seeped its way back into my head.

Leave a Reply

